Cake Art

I’ve always been really into cooking, especially baking. This all started when I found out I was a coeliac. At the time, there wasn’t a great selection of foods on the market that were coeliac friendly, so my mother and I began to bake our own bread and cakes using wheat-free flour.

I have always been a very creative person. Drawing, painting and doing crafts was always a hobby of mine. A few years ago, a show came on tv called Cake Boss, about a baker named Buddy Valastro who owned a bakery in Hoboken, New Jersey. He made spectacular cakes for all occasions, and I was totally captivated by this! I was fascinated by the level of skill and creativity that his cakes had. It combined elements of sculpture and baking, which blew me away. His cakes were like nothing I had ever seen before. The art of cake decorating at this level had not been in practice in Ireland yet, but I was eager to try!

Sourcing ingredients for these cakes proved to be tougher than I anticipated. Sugar paste and fondant were nearly impossible to buy in shops, therefore, I took to the internet and ordered some online at a very reasonable price!

hapMy first few cakes were underwhelming to say the least! But practice makes perfect. It took a lot of time, patience and practice to get the techniques right. The baking was the easy part, the decorating proved to be quite the challenge! I watched Cake Boss religiously, picking up new tips and tricks every time. There are also lots of great tutorials on Youtube, that really helped me to grasp the basics.

 

ccOnce I had the basics mastered, the fun began. I could use my creativity to create cakes for any occasion like Christmas, Easter, birthdays etc. I got better and better the more I made, and even got requests from people to make cakes for them, which I was honoured to do!  Here’s just a few of the cakes that I’ve done, hopefully you can see the progress I’ve made over the years!

 

 

ea

chx

80

1209742_177105912494931_460522800_n

oreo

nyc

That’s just a few of the cakes i’ve made so that you can see the progress I’ve made. Here’s a video about the basics of decorating a fondant cake.

Leave a comment